department of pharmacology


Congratulations to Krzysztof Palczewski, Ph.D. awarded the Beckman-Argyros Award in Vision Research



ASPET Policy Updates
Industry Reacts to FDA Draft Quality Metrics Guidance
ASPET Encourages Community to Respond to Request for Comments on Regulatory Burden
August 31, 2015 Legislative Update: Countdown to a Showdown — Lawmakers Return to Washington
NIH Strategic Plan on the Right Track
House Leaders Plan for a Continuing Resolution as Congress Adjourns for Summer Recess
FDA Issues Draft Quality Metrics Guidance
Bipartisan Policy Center Releases Recommendations with FDA Reforms
Agriculture Appropriations Bills Advanced by House and Senate Committees
POTUS Nominates Andy Slavitt to Lead CMS
White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) Issues Memo Outlining Priorities for FY 2017
July 15, 2015: Legislative Update - House Passes 21st Century Cures Legislation
House and Senate Appropriations Committees Approve Respective (FY) 2016 Labor, Health and Human Services (LHHS) Spending Bills
ASPET Joins AAMC Ad-Hoc Group for Medical Research in Letter to Senate HELP Committee
NIH Announces New Council of Council Members
FASEB Responds in Support of 21st Century Cures Legislation
NIH Approves Working Group Strategic Vision to Transform National Library of Medicine
NIH Extramural Research Deputy Director Announces NIH Departure
June 15, 2015 Legislative Update: Senate Appropriations Committee Advances FY 2016 Commerce, Justice, Science (CJS) Bill
Everything You Wanted to Know About the Appropriations Process But Were Afraid to Ask
May 4, 2015 Legislative Update: Budget Conferees Pass Bill Keeping Budget Caps in Place; NIH Funding Increase Now in Appropriators Hands

Welcome to Pharmacology at CWRU

Our mission is to discover specific mechanisms that control physiological processes at the cellular and molecular level. Our basic science approach is the best framework for rational drug design, and our research offers hope for defeating some of humanity's most devastating diseases--breast cancer, AIDS, blindness, hypertension, Alzheimer's, and diabetes.

The mission of our Department encompasses research and education in molecular, cellular, and clinical pharmacology. We actively participate in five specialized research centers associated primarily with the Department of Pharmacology and we are committed to supporting the community of faculty, postdoctoral fellows, and graduate students in support of today's research for tomorrow's cures.

Posted on 4/18/2013

Kris Palczewski receives prestigious award

Congratulations! Kris Palczewski receives one of only five grants awarded by the NIH in it's prestigious Audacious Initiatives Program! READ MORE
Posted on 5/4/2015

CONGRATULATIONS to our Chair, Krzysztof Palczewski who is the 2015 recipient of the BRESSLER AWARD

CONGRATULATIONS to our Chair, Krzysztof Palczewski who is the 2015 recipient of the BRESSLER AWARD, sponsored by the Lighthouse Guild! The recipient is selected among international scientists and clinicians whose contributions have advanced vision care and whose further work is expected to continue and contribute significantly! Congratulations Kris!
Posted on 3/5/2015