department of pharmacology

About Department of Pharmacology

The Department of Pharmacology at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine enjoys a tradition of excellence in basic science research. Our legacy includes the award of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1971 to Earl W. Sutherland Jr. for his discovery of the now famous "intracellular messenger" cAMP. Several generations of scholars have continued this tradition through their nationally and internationally recognized contributions to biomedical sciences. In 1994, Alfred Goodman Gilman, an M.D., Ph.D. graduate of the department, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his characterization of signal transduction via G-proteins, while the 1998 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to alum Ferid Murad, M.D., Ph.D., recognizing his discovery of the role of nitric oxide in intercellular signaling.

The research mission of the Department of Pharmacology builds upon this heritage by seeking to discover specific mechanisms that control physiological processes at cellular and molecular levels. An understanding of these mechanisms provides the innovation necessary for discovery of new therapeutic interventions. Thus, our research focuses on the future. From bioorganic chemistry and molecular biology to signal transduction and the cell biology of cytoskeletal assembly, the Department of Pharmacology provides a scholarly continuum that uses an understanding of molecular interactions to unravel clinically relevant drug targets.

Because modern pharmacology is a multifaceted discipline, we have created a rich interdisciplinary training program in pharmacological sciences by joining our primary faculty with affiliated faculty from other departments. This ensures that our research and educational offerings have the necessary breadth and depth for training the newest generation of molecular pharmacologists.